Databases
Data collections
- Handbook of chemistry and physics (Chemistry, physics)
- Nucleonica (Nuclear science)
- Review of Particle Physics (Particle physics)
- SpringerMaterials (Chemistry, physics and engineering)
Metrics
- Journal Citation Reports (Journal impact factors)
Newspaper databases
Bibliographic databases
- Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts (Astronomy, 1899-2000)
- ADS Abstracts Service (Astronomy and physics, 1849- )
- CERN Document Server (High energy physics, 1668- )
- Compendex (Engineering, 1976-)
- CrossRef Search (General, 1893- )
- DTIC Multisearch (Technical information)
- ETDEWEB (Energy and related topics, 1995- )
- INIS (Nuclear science, 1970- )
- INSPEC (Physics, electronics and computing, 1898- )
- INSPIRE (High energy physics, 1961- )
- Medline (Medicine, 1965- )
- NTIS (Sci-Tech, multidisciplinary, reports, 1964-)
- Nuclear Science Abstracts (Nuclear science and technology, 1948-1976)
- Office of Scientific & Technical Information (Energy-related collections, 1915- )
- Techniques de l'Ingénieur (Engineering, 1946-)
- Web of Science (Multidisciplinary, 1970-)
- Zentralblatt für Mathematik (Mathematics, 1931- )
Address databases
- Directory of High Energy Physics Institutes
- The following titles are a list of a selection of databases in science and technology which can be accessed by one of the library staff.
How to obtain articles
For those articles which are not linked to the full text or cannot be requested directly from the database in question, you will still have to do some traditional document retrival in the Library or on the Library's web site..
The recommended path to follow is:
- Check in CERN Document Server, or from the list of electronic journals, if the document is available online.
- If the document is not available online, but present as a hardcopy in the CERN Library
- Request the document via CERN Document Server, or
- Pass by the library to pick up the document or make a photocopy
- If the document is neither available online, nor available from the library, please ask for an interlibrary loan
- To access these resources from outside CERN, please follow the instructions
For more information please contact Library Desk.


Scientific information service