Archives of Proton Synchrotron Division and Machine Proton Synchrotron Division, PS and MPS

[Back to Accelerators - PS]

Archives of Proton Synchrotron Division and Machine Proton Synchrotron Division, PS and MPS


Identity Statement | Context | Content and Structure | Conditions of access and use | Allied materials | Description control | Database


Identity statement [Top]

Reference code(s)

CERN-ARCH-PS-01-1-001 to CERN-ARCH-PS-13-02

Title

Archives of Proton Synchrotron Division and Machine Proton Synchrotron Division, PS and MPS

Date(s)

January 1952 - December 2001

Level of description

Sub-fonds

Extent of the unit of description

269 boxes, 30 linear metres

Context [Top]

Name of creator

PS and MPS Division, CERN

Administrative history

The Proton Synchrotron (PS) is one of the oldest of CERN's accelerators. It was commissioned in 1959 and has been running continuously ever since. The PS has been modified considerably since then, adapting it to the ever increasing complexity of CERN's accelerator system. The PS Division has also seen a lot of changes :

1956 - 1960
 
PS Division
1961 - 1965
 
PS Machine (MPS) Division
1966 - 1967
PS Department
PS Machine (MPS) Division
Nuclear Physics Apparatus (NPA) Division
1968
PS Department
PS Machine (MPS) Division
Nuclear Physics Apparatus (NPA) Division
Synchrotron Injector (SI)
1969 -1972
PS Department
PS Machine (MPS) Division
Synchrotron Injector (SI)
1973
PS Department
PS Machine (MPS) Division
1974 - 1975
PS Department
PS Machine (MPS) Division
1976 - 2002
 
PS Division

 

Between 1966 and 1976 CERN Divisions were grouped into Departments.

Click on : PS Historical Chart

For more detail on the group in PS Division, see : List of PS Groups

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Allardyce Brian, Divisional Planning Officer (DPO)

Content and structure [Top]

Scope and content

With a diameter of 200 metres and reaching a final energy of 28 GeV, the Proton Synchrotron (PS) was for a while the most powerful accelerator in the world.

Today the PS complex can accelerate all stable and electrically charged particles (electrons, protons), their antiparticles (positrons, antiprotons), and different kinds of heavy ions (oxygen, sulfur, or even lead).

The first stage of acceleration happens in a linear accelerator (Linac), and each type of particle has its own. This is because of their very different masses.

Then all particle beams pass through the PS machine itself. Each acceleration cycle takes 2.4 seconds, and the PS control systems are so versatile that different particle beams can be dealt with on each successive cycle. The beams are then injected into the bigger rings for further acceleration (SPS, LEP or - in future - LHC). Proton beams from the PS complex are also used for physics experiments (ISOLDE, East Hall) or for the production of antiprotons (Antiproton Decelerator).

This collection includes reports, minutes, notes, specifications and memoranda classified by alphabetical order of groups and by year .

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information

Nothing was destroyed.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

System of arrangement

The original order has been preserved. For purposes of cataloguing the files have been described according to the plan bellow :

  • Internal reports were classified by group until 1976, then by year.
  • Notes are classified by group with a additional information at the end of the reference number to indicate minutes (Min.), technical notes (Tech.), specifications (Spec.) or informations (Info.).
CERN-ARCH-PS-01
1
PS first reports, Jun 1952 to Oct 1953
2
PS authors reports, Jan 1952 to Oct 1960
3
PS internal reports by groups, Aug 1952 to Dec 2002
CERN-ARCH-PS-02
 
PS minutes by groups, Oct 1958 to Oct 1992
CERN-ARCH-PS-03
 
PS notes by groups, Nov 1956 to Dec 2001
CERN-ARCH-PS-04
 
PS technical notes by groups, Feb 1968 to Nov 1992
CERN-ARCH-PS-05
 
PS specifications by groups, Oct 1957 to Sep 1991
CERN-ARCH-PS-06
 
PS memorandum by groups, Oct 1959 to Sep 1989
CERN-ARCH-PS-07
 
PS information and installation notes, Jan 1971 to May 1986
CERN-ARCH-PS-08
 
PS committees, Sep 1954 to Sep 1986
CERN-ARCH-PS-09
 
PS technical board, Feb 1987 to Oct 1989
CERN-ARCH-PS-10
 
PS Initial Cooling Experiment (ICE), Dec 1976 to Jul 1979
CERN-ARCH-PS-11
 
PS working notes, running in, news, Jun 1952 to Jul 1992
CERN-ARCH-PS-12
 
J B Adams collection, Jun 1952 to Dec 1987
CERN-ARCH-PS-13
 
PS Miscellaneous, Jun 1952 to Feb 1961
CERN-ARCH-PS-14
 
Group leaders', staff, Machine Areas Committee, and other committees 1953 to 1989
CERN-ARCH-PS-15
 
Files of C. Germain 1952 to 1988
CERN-ARCH-PS-16
 
Magnet steel, etc 1953 to 1978
CERN-ARCH-PS-17
 
Theory of accelerators 1964 to 1965
CERN-ARCH-PS-18
 
Machine schedules, magnet blocks, etc 1960 to 1975
CERN-ARCH-PS-19
 
LEAR (Low Energy Antiproton Ring) and AA (Antiproton Accumulator) running news and group correspondence 1979 to 1987
CERN-ARCH-PS-20
 
Files of H. Koziol 1970 to 1990

 

Conditions of access and use [Top]

Conditions governing access

See file level description and the CERN operational circular No 3: rules applicable to archival material and archiving at CERN. In general, records on any subject that are over 30 years old, and all records of a purely scientific nature, may be consulted.

Conditions governing reproduction

Copyright is retained by CERN, no reproduction without permission.

Language / scripts of material

Most of the material is written in French or English

Finding aids

Listed to file level in the CERN Archive database.

Description control [Top]

Archivist's note

Description prepared by Sandrine Reyes

Date(s) of description: Geneva, the 17th April 2002, Revised 2007.

Share/Save Share

You are here