Archives of Large Hadron Collider, LHC

[Back to Accelerators - LHC]

Archives of Large Hadron Collider, LHC


Identity Statement | Context | Content and Structure | Conditions of access and use | Note | Description control | Database


Identity statement [Top]

Reference code(s)

CERN-ARCH-AC-1-001 to 026
CERN-ARCH-AT-1-001 to 254
CERN-ARCH-AT-2-001 
CERN-ARCH-LHC-1-001 to 007
CERN-ARCH-LHC-2-001 to 025
CERN-ARCH-LHC-3-001 to 124
CERN-ARCH-ATS-1-001
AC Divisional reports
AT Divisional and internal reports
AT Departmental reports
LHC Divisional and project reports
LHC Notes and project notes
LHCC reports, other reports and publications
ATS Reports

 

Title

Archives of Large Hadron Collider, LHC

Date(s)

April 1983 to April 2001

Level of description

Sub-fonds

Extent of the unit of description

86 boxes; 149 items; 9 linear metres

Context [Top]

Name of creator

LHC Division, CERN

Administrative history

In December 1994 CERN's governing body, the Council, officially approved the construction of CERN's Large Hadron Collider (LHC) - a technologically challenging super conducting ring, which will be installed in the existing LEP tunnel - to provide proton-proton collisions at energies 10 times greater than any previous machine. One of the fundamental questions it will address is that of the mechanism which gives matter its mass. The LHC will bring protons and ions into head-on collisions at higher energies than ever achieved before, allowing scientists to recreate conditions prevailing just after the "Big-Bang".

LHC Project organisation is managed by the LHC Project Leader, L. Evans (1994- ), supported by the Project Management team and the Project Leader's Office.

In 1990: creation of Accelerator Technology (AT) Division, which with MT (Mechanical Technology), PS and SL Divisions, formed the accelerator sector (AC).

In 1994: AT reported to the newly created Accelerator and Technology Board.

In 1996: creation of LHC Division, mainly from the former AT directed by JP Gourber until 1999 and Ph. Lebrun from 1999.

In 2003, the new Accelerator Technology (AT) Division emerged from the former LHC Dvision in the reorganisation of the Accelerator Sector.

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Henrichsen, Knud, LHC Division

Karlson-Forestier, Jill, LHC Project Leader's Office

Maio, Susan, LHC Division

Content and structure [Top]

Scope and content

This collection includes AC, AT and LHC divisional and other reports, also publication (project notes, minutes of meetings and workshops).

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information

Nothing was destroyed.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

System of arrangement

The original order has been preserved. For the purposes of cataloguing the files have been described according to the following plan :

CERN-ARCH-AC-

CERN-ARCH-AC-1-001 to 026

AC Divisional reports 1990 to 1995


CERN-ARCH-AT-

CERN-ARCH-AT-1-001 to 254

AT Divisional reports 1990 to 1995

CERN-ARCH-AT-2-001

AT Departmental reports 2007 to 2008


CERN-ARCH-LHC-

1-001 and 007

LHC Project reports 1996 to 2000

1-002 to 006

LHC Divisional reports 1996 and 1998

2-001 to 014

LHC Notes 1983 to 1996

2-015 to 020

LHC Project notes 1995 to 2000

2-021 to 025

LHC Project cost estimates 1989 to 1996

3-001 to 023, 092 & 118 to 120

LHCC Reports 1992 to 2003

3-024 to 027 & 081

Minutes of the LHC Technical Co-ordination Committee (TCC) 1997 to 2000

3-028 to 030 & 125 to 132

Minutes of the LHC MAin Ring Committee (MARIC) meetings 1996 to 1998

3-031 to 033

Minutes of Monday Morning Meeting (MMMG)
1996 to 1998

3-034 to 039 & 082

Minutes of LHC Experiment Machine Interface Committee (LEMIC) 1994 to 2000

3-040 to 045 & 084

Minutes of the Technical Committee (TC) 1994 to 2001

3-046 to 047

Summary of LHC steering committee for magnets and cryogenics 1994 and 1995

3-048 to 051 & 083

Minutes of the parameters and layout committee (P&LC) 1997 to 2001

3-052 to 053

Minutes of the LHC with Four Feed Points Committee 1994 - 1995

3-054

Transparencies presented at the workshop on LHC technology,  October 1993

3-055

Mini-workshop on LHC Dipole, September 1994

3-056 to 058

LHC Internal notes Emerging Energy Technologies (EET), 1997 - 1998

3-059 to 061

Vacuum Group technical notes 1997 to 1998

3-062 to 064

Internal notes Magnet Test and Analysis (MTA) 1996 to 1998

3-065 to 073

Meeting of the LHC Machine Advisory Committee (MAC) 1995 to 2000

3-074

Summary record of the 3rd meeting of the LHC Board and
related documents 2000

3-075

Minutes of the LHC Management Board
1996 to 1998

3-076

Minutes of the 3rd meeting of the CERN-US Cooperation Committee (CUCOM) 1998

3-077 to 080

LHC Project seminars 1992 to 2001

3-085 to 091

Miscellaneous, conceptual design and studies

3-093 to 100

LHC Project workshops and seminars 1995 to 2000

3-101

Minutes of the Experimental Requirements Committee (ERC), from 19th May 1991 to 14th February 1994

3-102 to 103

Early LHC project, Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory (SSC) 1984-1992

3-104

Early LHC project, SC Europe (European firms in field of
superconductors)

3-105 to 106

Early LHC project, meetings of the LHC Group 1983-1990, photocopies of Director's transparencies LHC 1993 - 1995

3-107 to 108

Minutes of the 103rd to 197th Energy Calibration meetings 1996 to 2000

3-109  

Minutes of the 1st to 6th LHC Electronics Board (LEB), from 3rd October 1996 to 17th March 2000

3-110

Minutes of the LHC Computing Board (LCB) meetings, from 22nd August 1996 to 24th March 2000

3-111

Minutes of the LHC Committee meetings,
from 14th February 1989 to 8th December 1993

3-112 to 113

Minutes of the Detector Research and Development Committee (DRDC) meetings, 1990 to 1995

3-114 to 117

LHC Publications, experimental programme, second workshop on eletronics for LHC experiments

 

CERN-ARCH-ATS-

CERN-ARCH-ATS-1-001

ATS reports 2009

Conditions of access and use [Top]

Conditions governing access

See file level description and the CERN operational circular No 3: rules applicable to archival material and archiving at CERN. In general, records on any subject that are over 30 years old, and all records of a purely scientific nature, may be consulted.

Conditions governing reproduction

Copyright is retained by CERN, no reproduction without permission.

Language / scripts of material

Most of the material is written in English and French.

Finding aids

Listed to file level in the CERN Archive database.

Note [Top]

Note

Accelerator Technologies division, AT (1990-1995) - Large Hadron Collider, LHC (1996-1998) - Accelerator Sector, AC (1990-1995) collections are not fully catalogued.

Description control [Top]

Archivist's note

Description prepared by Sandrine Reyes.

Date(s) of description: Geneva, the 19th June 2001, Revised 2007.

Share/Save Share

You are here